Whispered in a Crowd 

Silence is a sound I’ve never heard.

It’s a mystery in entirety.

Alone in an empty room I hear

A cacophony of sound

A tirade of this and that

That have nothing to do with the silence.

Yet I still hear in that empty room,

The music of the air

The rolling of the dust

And the drum rap ta tap

Of the mice in the walls.

 

To sit in solemn silence is a goal

Out of reach for my own meditation.

The band plays on

And even at their moment of sotto

I hear the smallest pan flute

Squeaking out the lonely phrase.

 

The silence I hear is the white

Noise of a crowd that flows

By the street corner flooding

My ears with more echo

Than my ears can cope

Within the time of a second

Idea that pops through and drown

In the flood of sound.

 

Silence is a stranger to me

And the flood of sound is

The only way for me to think free

Leave a comment